Windows Update Fails Lead you to Troubleshoot around update KB2919355 or other failed 2012 updates.

 

3

 

Hello everyone. I had a strange series of events lead me to this solution. I had three installs of windows, done on three different media, with a different version of Server 2012 on every install.

This includes all versions of Server 2012 and 2012 R2. The minimum media was RTM.  In every single install, Server updates failed, no matter what I did.

There is a variance of things seen in windowsupdate.log. However, you are ultimately going to find yourself looking at updates to remove, install or otherwise. If updates cannot be installed, manually, or otherwise, why don’t you go ahead and try this first. If it doesn’t work, go on with your troubleshooting. I think you will be surprised.

 

  • 1. Run GPEDIT.MSC
  • Choose Computer Configuration
  • Administrative Templates
  • Windows Components
  • Windows Update
  • Chose the 5th selection from the top in the center pane
    • “Specify Intranet Microsoft Update Service Location”
    • The policy default is not configured
    • Change this to disabled.

Now close the policy and restart the MS update service. Then go back to the Windows Update center, and you should notice that the screen has changed. If not, then go ahead and click the check for updates button.

Untitled

In my case, There was a change that said MS update needs to update itself. It automatically send a file down and repaired itself. Then updates worked normally after that!!

I wanted to share this one, as it looks to me that this could be a very large call driver for support centers.

I hope this fix finds you and I hope you fixed your customer in a quick timeframe.

As Proof I have had a lot of windows update failures late, I present the weirdest one I have seen. It is called Audit Mode Failures to update. Take a look at that one, if this article does not fix you up. It does have some basic troubleshooting steps in it.

Thank you,

Louis

Leave a Reply

