What if I need to manually create the Skype for Business Management Shell Shortcut? Did you know there was a bug there?

Good Evening Skype for business people! I had a weird experience today where I had a comrade who had lost their Skype For Business Shell shortcut. I started to look for a way to re-create the shortcut and I got stuck! I couldn’t do it!

On further inspection, it does looks like the string for shortcut under “Target” is missing some characters, but it still works as a link!!

5-16-2016 11-21-45 PM

 

To add insult to injury, I then proceed to break my link and I no longer have a working Lync Management Shell! Ok Now this goes from a curiosity to a project!!

So Since I lost the original text for the shortcut, let me post in here. This is the closest approximation to what it is in the default install: 

C:\Windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe -noexit -command “cd $env:UserProfile; Write-Host ‘Loading Modules for Skype for Business Server 2015…’; Import-Module ‘c:\Program Files\Common Files\Skype for Business Server 2015\Modules\SkypeForBui

Notice it just ends without even a closing quote! This is really weird. I tried to duplicate the link with the same text and the shortcut doesn’t work!!! Ok so all I can assume is that Windows is somehow able to resolve the link made by the Skype for Business Installer. But lets say you have lost this link like I did. Your shell now blows up when you run the command like mine does:

5-16-2016 11-23-10 PM

Ok Folks here is the $64 solution. For me anyways, I was able to make a duplicable shortcut for Lync management Shell (SFB shell) by cutting down on the default text in the command. notice How I was able to create a shorter Target command:

C:\Windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe -noexit -command “cd $env:UserProfile; Write-Host ‘Loading Modules…’; Import-Module ‘C:\Program Files\Common Files\Skype for Business Server 2015\Modules\SkypeForBusiness\SkypeForBusiness.psd1′”

I just cut the text down to say loading modules, and then I completed the missing path. This worked under all circumstances, whereas the default LMS will not work if you try to recreate it!!!

this is likely just a temporary situation, but I wanted to let you know about if you stuck on not being able to run a Lync Shell Command!

Thank you,

 

Louis

One thought on “What if I need to manually create the Skype for Business Management Shell Shortcut? Did you know there was a bug there?

Leave a Reply

