Have I lost My Mind! “This application could not be started. Do you want to view information about this issue?”

quiet-riot-metal-health

 

I’ve truly Lost it! What is wrong with this thing!

Server Manager won’t start and the error is “This application could not be started. Do you want to view information about this issue?”

If I was to make this article as long as the time I spent trying to figure this out, it would be a long article indeed. Instead, this is funny to look at how short it is, in hindsight

I should re-title the article, “Don’t you wish this was the first place you looked when Server Manager would not start?”

here it goes- Brevity is not my strong point but here it goes:

  1. Navigate to C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727 (really server manager works off of 2.0?)
  2. ldr64.exe query – This will return 0x0000000 – if so then the 32 bit mode is running, this is incorrect
  3. ldr64.exe set64 – This will change the value to 0x0000001. This is the correct mode for Server Manager to run in.
  4. C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\Ldr64.exe SetWow

** added to adress issue in the comments. thanks for letting me know i didn’t tell you exactly what to do!. SO here you see you have to make a choice. you have to manually switch to the other mode. For example, the most common is to run in 32 bit mode. For example this was the default setting in SBS 2011-

To run 32 Bit mode

C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\Ldr64.exe SetWow

To run 64 bit Mode

C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\Ldr64.exe Set64

My apologies, as I had left the 32 bit command out. This is the most important command, as many IIS instances run under 32Bit. I hope this makes it more clear!

 

I switch to 32bit mode! Somebody please slap me! It works now. Server Manager works now! Buahaha Buhaha Buhaha! Please help me contain My Joy!!! Get Me a Dr. Somebody Get me a Shot!

 

Dung Dunk

L

8 thoughts on “Have I lost My Mind! “This application could not be started. Do you want to view information about this issue?”

  1. Claus-Ole Olsen says:

    It’s Ldr64.exe Query and Ldr64.exe set64

    Like

  2. elayaraja says:

    it’s great…

    Like

  3. kendaukcat says:

    Thank You!!! This is so Great!!!

    Like

  4. DeepSagar says:

    You are amazing bro!!! you saved my time and it worked ….Thanks a lot

    Like

  5. Mushahid says:

    Bro bro bro really great job
    U r something different thanQ for a wonderful help
    God bless U.! 😀

    Like

  6. Roshan says:

    F**ck after so many days… finally this was teh issue… am thinking now.. how did it got changed to 32 but

    Like

  7. Kim Laurence says:

    i didnt really understand.. Do i have to edit something in C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727 ? Please help me. Thank you.

    Like

    • I fixed the article. Thank you for noticing. I missed a few lines in that article. I have updated the article. There are two command you run. One changes to 32Bit IIS, the other Changes to 64BIt. I hope this helps
      32bit
      C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\Ldr64.exe SetWow

      64bit
      C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\Ldr64.exe Set64

      Like

Leave a Reply

