Logging into Mobile outlook with no domain\username requirement

I had done this maybe once before but I thought the functionality changed. Since it has not, through several exchange versions, I thought I would share the information I am likely to forget, yet again. When you add your user account to a mobile device,  you “have” to enter the domain name when you add your account to the Exchange client application.

Well I was proved incorrect in my assumption this behavior couldn’t be changed. This is indeed a server side change that can allow you to just enter the user name.

So we have a few versions of IIS to cover but I will include the screen shots where Possible. First IIS 6.x with Exchange 2007. This is located in the Active Sync Virtual Directory properties:

 

Figure 1

1d

Next we have IIS 7. In IIS 7 and 7.5 The default domain is automatically added if you use windows authentication. If you cant get the domain name to work with Iphone or other phone clients properly with Windows Authentication, you may have to use basic auth. for Basic authentication you can reference MS KB cc772009.

For Exchange 2013, The IIS Location is Inetmgr->Default Web Site->Owa-> enable Basic authentication. Then on the right pane (far right), you will see an edit button. Click that and enter the default domain:

 

Figure 2

2

That’s is. you should now be able to just enter the user name and be able to access you mobile account for Exchange Web Services.

7 thoughts on “Logging into Mobile outlook with no domain\username requirement

  1. Bud says:

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website.
    I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own site now
    😉

    Like

  2. Riley says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you
    are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

  3. It’s the best time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this put up and if I could I desire to recommend you some interesting things or advice.

    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this
    article. I want to learn more things approximately it!

    Like

  4. Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening.

    I appreciate you finding the time and effort to
    put this short article together. I once again find myself spending way too much
    time both reading and leaving comments. But
    so what, it was still worthwhile!

    Like

  5. Thanks for the good writeup. It if truth be told was a leisure account it.
    Look advanced to far introduced agreeable from you! However, how could we keep in touch?

    Like

  6. shopping says:

    Thank you for every other great post. The place else may
    just anyone get that type of info in such a perfect means of writing?

    I have a presentation next week, and I am on the look for
    such info.

    Like

Leave a Reply

