Lync 2013/ Skype for Business Blank Oauth Token Issuer

If you had configured the Lync 2013 Oauth token issuer, and then made changes, you may find you get a an rtc.managent error that says you cannot create the certificate in the Lync deployment wizzard. However if you run Get-CsCertificate -type OAuthTokenIssuer it is blank! This is a catch 22, that i happend to work myself out of one morning.

This did not work for everyone, so please look at it in context with the overall blog on this subject.

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/lyncdeploy/thread/6e4b15f7-16a2-48d9-9cbe-1fc3ff8cf432/

Here was my solution

1. Remove the Edge Server from the topology – republish

2. Generated a manual certificate request for a web cert from IIS (with private key)

3. Imported the private key to the DC root store and personal store on lync FE server

4. Started at the top of the depolyment wizzard and ran “install local configuration store”  even though it says complete.

5. San setup or remove Lync Server Components again

6. Ran request, install, or assign Certificates.

7 selected my self signed cert with the name of “lyncfe.domain.com”

8. assigned it to the oauthTokenIssuer.

I dont know if steps 2 and three were altogher necessary, however, these are exactly the steps I followed. Feel free to please post if the oath req will succeed. I have a feeling it will.

Thats it! Oath seem to be working and I dont get the oauth certificate usages are not assigned error and i can now start the lync services.

Louis

2 thoughts on “Lync 2013/ Skype for Business Blank Oauth Token Issuer

  1. I think everything wrote made a great deal of sense. However,
    what about this? suppose you wrote a catchier title?

    I am not saying your content is not good, however what if you added a title that grabbed
    people’s attention? I mean Lync 2013/ Skype for Business Blank Oauth Token Issuer | DigitalBamboo's Blog
    is a little boring. You could peek at Yahoo’s front page and note how they
    create news titles to get people to click. You might add a video or a
    related picture or two to grab readers interested about everything’ve written. Just my opinion, it might make your posts a
    little livelier.

    Like

    • Yea I get it. I am going to have to change my whole style. I have plans to do that, but In the mean time. I don’t want to stop making the contributions. In order to make videos, I am going to have to set up differently to be able to do it on every post. Its coming. I just have to spend the time to convert my processes. Thanks for the feedback. I know I need to get better with my media presentation. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

